6901 Mackenzie Road
St. Louis, MO 63123 314.792.7737
Resurrection Cemetery History, originally known as New Sts. Peter and Paul Cemetery
In 1912 land was purchased for the St. Louis Roman Catholic Theological Seminary along Highway 66 (Watson Road) in St. Louis County. In October 1927 Archbishop John Glennon expanded this parcel by purchasing adjacent acres. On this combined acreage west of the River Des Peres, the Archdiocese of St. Louis then built Kenrick Theological Seminary, Cardinal Glennon College and laid out the New Sts. Peter and Paul Cemetery on rolling landscape on both sides of Watson Road. The original Sts. Peter and Paul Cemetery on Gravois Road, opened in 1864, had few graves to offer.
Archbishop John Glennon established this new cemetery to serve all in south St. Louis, especially those without a parish cemetery, as Calvary Cemetery was serving those in north St. Louis. The cemetery was opened in October 1928, the first burial took place on November 15, 1929 in Section 11, Lot 93.
Soon after, the straightening of Watson Road in November 1932 facilitated the construction of an underpass to provide access between the 300 acres of cemetery land on the south side of Watson Road with only 23 acres on the north.
On November 3, 1947 Archbishop Joseph Ritter renamed the cemetery to Resurrection Cemetery.
In 1948, the first shrine, the Shrine of the Sacred Heart, was designed for installation in Section 20A along the rippling stream. In 1952 the Shrine of Our Lady of Fatima followed in Section 20B and in 1958 the Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes show-cased Section 22, all were composed of white marble. The Shrine of the Resurrection beautified Section 48 in 1963 with its three tall crosses accenting the risen Christ.
A new cemetery office was built in 1952, the sole development on the north side of Watson Road. This replaced the original frame office/residence on the south side.
In November 1974 two small chapels were added to provide beautiful settings for funeral services. These are located at opposite ends of Section 43, a prominent area. The Chapel of St. Louis, the King of France, contains striking stained glass windows created by Emil Frei. The Chapel of St. Vincent De Paul displays stained glass windows from a closed church. Later in 1974, the hillside in this section was terraced with ten mosaic monuments designed by Ravenna Mosaic Company, each depicting a Bible illustration.
On April 26, 1988 the Archdiocese sold much of the land on the north side of Watson Road, which included the Kenrick Seminary grounds, the cemetery office and its 23 acres. A new cemeteries administrative center and the office for the south St. Louis cemeteries - Mt. Olive, St. Peter (Kirkwood), Sts. Peter and Paul, and Resurrection – was then built and is located near the Watson Road/Mackenzie cemetery entrance. The "Hand of God" fountain created by artist Saunders Schulz in 1989 highlights the office.
Resurrection Cemetery is proud of its four uniquely different architectural mausoleums, each offering crypts and niches. The original three are centrally located within the cemetery and within walking distance of each other. The first, the Garden of Gethsemane, was designed in 1980 by architect George Quick and nestled into the hillside above the stream. Quick then designed the Holy Family Abbey Mausoleum in 1982 to mirror the mausoleum near Venice, Italy on San Michele Island. Further up the hillside stands the Resurrection Mausoleum which opened in 1990. A large sculpture of Chi Rho by the Bevel Granite Company stands in its center.
The latest mausoleum complex, the Divine Mercy, is found near the cemetery entrance and office, opening in spring 2014. The focal point of this is the unique, back lit Divine Mercy feature. This artwork is "one-of-a-kind", designed and constructed in Arnold MO for the specifications of Monsignor Dennis Delaney, Executive Director of Catholic Cemeteries.