Mt. Olive Cemetery, opened in 1823, was the parish cemetery for St. Mary and Joseph Catholic Church in the French community of Carondelet. The parish was established in 1824 and by 1839 the cemetery was full and had to be closed.
During the Cholera Epidemic of 1849, John Sigerson gave land to the City of Carondelet for cemetery use. This property was divided, with the northern portion dedicated for Catholic burials, the southern portion dedicated for Protestants. Archbishop Peter Kenrick named the Catholic section Mt. Olive Cemetery to perpetuate the name of the original burial ground in Carondelet.
A unique burial here was that of bachelor Joseph Marconnot, who died on December 27, 1924. Following the instructions of his will that the world view him in his finest, he was embalmed like King Tut, dressed in a tuxedo, and entombed in a private granite mausoleum. He was a popular attraction until recently, when his descendants installed a solid door to replace the glass one, preventing the public viewing that Mr. Marconnot intended.
Louis Jordan, the great rhythm and blues musician, was also buried here in 1975.