3906 Mt. Olive Road
Lemay, MO 63125
Office at Resurrection Cemetery: 314.792.7737
There are areas throughout this rectangular cemetery where lawn level marker lots and monument lots may be selected. Also available are lots for private family mausoleums and sarcophagi.
A chapel located near the cemetery entrance is available for interment services.
Contact the Resurrection Cemetery office for more information.
3906 Mt. Olive Road SCROLL DOWN TO VIEW CEMETERY MAP
St. Louis, MO 63125 (Lemay)
Located South of St. Louis, MO just off Interstate 55, nestled behind Mt. Hope Cemetery
From the South:
- Off I-55 take exit 199 (Reavis Barracks Road)
- Stay right (South/East) for about 1 mile.
- Turn left (North/East) onto Lemay Ferry Road. (267)
- Mt. Olive Cemetery is .85 miles ahead on the left.
- Turn left on Mt. Olive Road just past Mt. Hope.
From the North:
- Take exit 201A (Bayless Ave.)
- Turn left (South/East) about .7 miles.
- Turn right (South/West) onto Lemay Ferry Road (267)
- Mt. Olive Cemetery is .7 miles ahead on the right.
TO PRINT CEMETERY MAP: LEFT CLICK ANYWHERE ON IMAGE
Mt. Olive Cemetery, opened in 1823, was the parish cemetery for St. Mary and Joseph Catholic Church in the French community of Carondelet. The parish was established in 1824 and by 1839 the cemetery was full and had to be closed.
During the Cholera Epidemic of 1849, John Sigerson gave land to the City of Carondelet for cemetery use. This property was divided, with the northern portion dedicated for Catholic burials, the southern portion dedicated for Protestants. Archbishop Peter Kenrick named the Catholic section Mt. Olive Cemetery to perpetuate the name of the original burial ground in Carondelet.
A unique burial here was that of bachelor Joseph Marconnot, who died on December 27, 1924. Following the instructions of his will that the world view him in his finest, he was embalmed like King Tut, dressed in a tuxedo, and entombed in a private granite mausoleum. He was a popular attraction until recently, when his descendants installed a solid door to replace the glass one, preventing the public viewing that Mr. Marconnot intended.
Louis Jordan, the great rhythm and blues musician, was also buried here in 1975.